Union Stars receive Blue Flag status

The Union Stars Cricket Club and officials who received Blue Flag status. Photo supplied by SWD Cricket

The Union Stars Cricket Club from Oudtshoorn was honoured last week when Cricket South Africa announced that the club meet the requirements to receive Blue Flag status. Only twenty clubs in South Africa received this award.

“Blue Flag Status for Club” is a Cricket South Africa recognition given to clubs who have driven the objectives and aims of the Presidential Plan (provides a minimum to operating an effective cricket pipeline structure). The criteria used to ascertain the status of such a club is based on administration capabilities, adequate facilities, minimum number of teams and suitably qualified coaches.

Affiliate registered clubs need to complete a Club Quality Index (CQI) form to ascertain their status. The CQI is an administrative self-evaluation document that serves to guide or be used as a reference in

ascertaining the status of a registered club in driving the CSA Presidential Plan club cricket objectives. A club wishing to ascertain Blue Flag Status must score 90 percent on the CQI.

Union Stars was established in 1892 and has a proud and rich tradition and history in the SWD. The club has over the years been the most successful club in winning competitions played under the auspices of SWD Cricket and produced famous SWD players like Gurshwin Rabie, Marcello Piedt, Otneill Baartman, Pieter Stuurman and Waldo Lategan. The current president of the Board, Rudy Claassen, as well as Simon Swigelaar – an honorary life member of Cricket South Africa – are members of the club.

Claassen congratulated the club with its achievement and thanked all the role players for their hard work and contribution. The qualifying clubs will be able to wear the prestige CSA blue flag logo on the sleeve of their playing shirts.